The Long Road of Editing

Well, that’s that. The rough draft of the third book has been completed. It is very rough indeed. Now for the much deserved break in which I get to simply indulge in reading a book that someone else poured their blood, sweat and tears into. After that it’s onto either NaNo or the editing process. Cleaning up some scenes, creating more detail in others. I have a tendency to overlook descriptions while writing the rough draft.

Either way October will likely be devoid of writing anywhere but in this blog. October is one of my favorite months of the year as it includes my second favorite holiday, Halloween. My sister and I for the past several years have thrown a costumes mandatory Halloween party for our friends. Because honestly, who doesn’t secretly still want to dress up for Halloween as an adult. It’s just such a rare opportunity to play dress up. But I digress.

Writing. Right. Well. I expect the October break to keep me from burning out. Unless something catastrophic happens I’m planning on doing NaNo this November. I talked about that project/story idea in last week’s blog.

I’ve already started formatting the first Susan book in Word. Research has lead me to convert my OpenOffice documents into .DOCX documents for easier upload to Kindle Direct Publishing. There are some letters that the characters write to each other in the book, and I wanted to keep the fonts of the letters to give them a more hand written feel, so I turned them to jpeg files and inserted them into the text. The one thing I have yet to decide is how I’m going to label the chapters. I originally had them in the font that I used for Susan’s handwriting, and I’d like to keep that. However, that would mean turning every chapter title into a picture and inserting them as well. Doing that twenty-two times sounds a bit tedious, but if I really do want to keep that then I’ve just got to suck it up. Such is life, I suppose, but that’s December’s problem.

Thanks for stopping by and feel free to leave whatever thoughts or comments enter your beautiful brains.

~Yvonne

Leave a comment